Pumping at work Ep 1 – Wash and Pump

Officially start work.

 

For my whole confinement leave, I have been planning and thinking what to bring and how to pump during my work time. Worry that I could not pump on time, what boss and colleague would think of my pumping schedule, heavy bags and things to bring and tadaaa.. I ended up bringing three bags and one ice box to work on first day of work. Such a drama queen.

Then moving forward I can actually pack my stuff better in a more compact way.

 

Let’s take a peep what is in my bag 🙂

 

  1. Medela freestyle pump
  2. Assembled parts (breastshield with valve and membrane)
  3. Cover
  4. Small bottle of pureen bottle wash liquid cleanser
  5. Wet and dry tissue

 

019

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All these can actually fit in my medela bag – Awesome!

Often, people ask me,

 

How you wash your pump?

 

Well, I do not wash my pump – in a way. What I do is, I would rinse them in hot water and put them back in my tupperware container and keep in fridge for the next use.

Occasionally, if my breast milk is oily then I will put in two drops of liquid cleanser into the water to soak my pump. I do not disassemble the parts but just close the container and toss my parts in the water. Then, I will rinse them twice, warm water and hot water. After that I will keep them in the fridge for the next use.

Some mummy may say the liquid cleanser will get stuck in between the breastshield and valve if I do not disassemble them. So I tried to observe and I do not notice any bubbles. The parts feels squeaky clean.

Once, I met a few colleagues in the nursing room and they share with me how they clean and keep their pump parts.

  • Mummy 1. Instead of keep the parts in container, she put in a zip lock bag. After every pump, she will use the wet tissue (she is using pigeon hand and mouth wet wipes) to clean the membranes, valves and breastshields.
  • Mummy 2. Another mummy keep the pump parts separately, using both container and air dry bag. After every pump, she will disassemble the parts and wash them using liquid cleanser (sometimes without) and brush. She will air dry the parts using a special air dry bag and keep the parts back in container once they are dry.

Out of curiosity, I observe how different it makes between them and myself, in terms of time take for each pumping session.

 

Review 1 time taken for each pump

 

  • Mummy 1 She pumped for 20mins (double pump) and spend 2mins to clean her pump parts. In total she took only about 25-30mins to get back to desk.
  • Mummy 2 She pumped for 30mins (single pump and 15mins for each breast) and 15mins to wash and keep her pump parts. In total she took about 45-60mins to get back to desk.
  • I pumped for 20mins (double pump) and spend about 5mins to clean the pump parts. In total I take about 30-35mins to get back to desk.

 

Review 2 things to bring to work

 

  • Mummy 1 She use her handbag (medium size long champ) to put everything in. Fabulous.
  • Mummy 2 She use her autumn bag which is bigger than the mummy 1’s bag.
  • I use my medela bag and in fact I can still put in my purse and mobile in and ready to go. Medela bag is about the same size as the medium size long champ which have a lot of compartments. Super useful.

 

Any mummy want to share your tips how you pump at work? Appreciate your sharing here *wink*

 

I am sharing my pump schedule work here!

 

One thought on “Pumping at work Ep 1 – Wash and Pump

  1. Pingback: Pump at work Ep 5 – Effective storage on the go | halfmummy, quarterwife, a full time working babe

Leave a Reply

